Rad Swiss Rocks

Switzerland is…rad. I’ve had nothing but positive experiences here so far.

IMG_4735

The end of my first day in this country.

In fact, I was so blown away by the mountain views out the window in the train, that when I got off the train in Spiez, I left my camera behind. It was only after I had gotten onto my next train that I realized I was missing one of my most important storytelling tools.

I left my stuff with Alex on the train and sprinted down the train car, out the door and across a platform to the train car that I had exited two minutes before. I saw the girl who had been sitting across from me holding my camera, signaling to me to retrieve it. Of course, just as I pulled the handle to open the door of the train, the doors had locked and the train began to pull away. It was a classic scene: guy runs to keep up with train hoping that prized belonging can be passed through window, realizes that it’s a lost cause, finally slows down to a defeated pace.

Surprisingly, I was not too worried about this predicament that I’d gotten myself into. Probably because it is impossible to be unhappy if you are in the Swiss Alps. I could tell that my camera was in the right hands – but then recognized the possibility that the train to Interlaken that Alex and my gear were still on might pull away without me. So I ran back to that train. Luckily, it did not pull away.

We decided it would be best to take the next train and sort out the camera issue at the information office at the train station.

Thanks to the girl on the train (in the unlikely event that you read this: THANK YOU x 100000000), and the awesome Swiss railway employees, I had my camera back within the hour and was on a train to Interlaken. Lesson learned – always wear the neck strap.

The Swiss people are very generous — a woman at a fruit stand gave me a handful of free apricots and refused to let me pay for them.

After spending some time walking around Interlaken, Alex and I decided to go to Grindelwald, where we are right now. This place is unreal. The topography is mind-blowing – 3000 meters of relief.

IMG_4931

Grindelwald

We have spent the days hiking around the valley. There is still a great deal of snow here compared to previous years, according to some locals. Wishing I had the right gear to get up to some of the high peaks, but that will have to wait for another trip. For now, we are wandering around and I am taking tons of photos:

IMG_4624

IMG_4603

The retreating Grindelwald glacier.

IMG_4587

An abandoned “gletscherbar” that I was able to hike up via a sketchy wooden staircase…

IMG_4514

The start of the stairway

IMG_4517

IMG_4521

IMG_4528

IMG_4537

Gletscher Bar! Closed because you can’t see the glacier from here anymore.

IMG_4542

Would have been a nice spot for a cold brew.

IMG_4581

Gotta hydrate.

IMG_4571

Waterfall

IMG_4566

Glacial melt

IMG_4790

Strollin’

IMG_4786

IMG_4759

IMG_4764

IMG_4769

Alpine reflections

IMG_4822

Silberhorn on the right

IMG_4844

Chucky B, what a badass.

IMG_4856

Eiger, cast in sepia because that’s what it looked like in the 1850s.

IMG_4874

Lounging.

IMG_4888

Silberhorn

IMG_4915

IMG_4807

Hydration station #72

IMG_4924

A little avalanche!

IMG_4928

Peace.

2 responses to “Rad Swiss Rocks

Leave a Reply

