Summer 2013

Hey amigos,

In just 10 days, I will be leaving Austin for nearly 12 weeks. Many of you have requested a blog, or something of that nature, so here it is! Try not to get too stoked.

The agenda looks like this:

Greece: May 9-24. I’ll be going here on a field trip for my tectonic problems class to see the geology of the Cyclades in the Aegean Sea. We will be going to Attica, Lavrion, Sunion, Serifos, Andros, Tinos, Syros, Paros, and Naxos.

Spain: May 24- June 15. I’ll be going here to help my advisor set up a field trip (around southern Spain) for a future course, meeting up with a few geologists from USC, and working on my own research project in the Betic Cordillera.

European adventures (to be planned): June 15-28. I am still in the planning phase of this part of my trip. I’ve got a few rough ideas on things to do. Hopefully there will be some Spanish climbing involved. Maybe a trip to the Alps, or to Amsterdam or Prague. Suggestions are welcome.

Back to ATX for a few days to cut up some rocks (literally) and pack for the next trip.

Hawaii: July 3 – August 7. Helping my amigo Brendan study landscape evolution on the Kohala Peninsula on Hawaii. There will be some good side adventures: hopefully a visit to my friend who works at an observatory on Mauna Kea, plus some canyoneering, plus some lava.

Follow the blog, share the blog, read the blog because I’ll be posting some rad geology photos, videos, stories, etc. from my travelling! I will be posting photos to instagram as well, so follow me there : @klkgeo.

Cheers,

Kory

DSCN5766

3 responses to “Summer 2013

  1. hey!

    Ill be super creepy and follow you and hopefully we can run into each other in Greece!

    p.s. go to Prague it is my FAVORITE place I ever lived 🙂

    Safe travels! Flagstaff and NAU misses you!

    -Alex

    • Thanks Alex! I’m gonna have to deal with lots of internet stalkers now that I have a blog.

      People keep telling me to go to Prague! The list of places to go keeps getting longer.

      And I am pretty sure we are gonna be in Athens at the same time, so perhaps we can meet up there!

  2. I hate to admit it, but I found myself getting pretty stoked just reading this…

    Munich is the place to be. Must see. Like ATX but better in lots of ways.

Leave a Reply

